Kukla's Korner Hockey
by Paul on 03/05/13 at 06:32 PM ET
from Kerry Fraser of TSN,
Many warriors still play the game and deserve our utmost respect and admiration. Sadly, there is a growing list of 'fakers' that modestly endure any embarrassment associated with being recognized as a member in 'poor standing' of the Divers Club. Their ultimate reward for their dishonesty and cowardice is a power play. Embellishment is redefining the actions of our modern day player who "takes one for the team."
You are probably wondering why the referees don't just call a stand alone penalty on the embellisher. The fact is that most often a legitimate foul has been committed which the referee first identifies by raising his arm. At this point, the initial infraction must be assessed regardless of any subsequent embellishment by the player fouled. Should embellishment subsequently result, it is then appropriate for the referee to assess penalties to each player. On very rare occasions, a player will dive without being fouled and is assessed a stand alone diving penalty.
When an initial foul has been identified by the referee, and even though the penalty assessed for embellishment eliminates what would have been a power play for the 'divers' team, I would much rather see a rule change to make diving a double minor penalty similar to high sticking where an injury results.
Be the first to comment.
Add a Comment
Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.
Most Recent Blog Posts
About Kukla's Korner Hockey
Email Paul anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org