Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Talk Continues- Thornton Hit On Perron

from David Pollak of Working the Corners,

Players and one San Jose broadcaster had suggested that Perron embellished the hit by lying flat on the ice for a while in order to make sure Thornton got the maximum in-game penalty. The fact that Perron was back on the ice less than five minutes later and ended up scoring a goal certainly bolstered the idea.

So were players ready to back down now that the St. Louis forward has been held out of two games?

Not exactly.

“Like I said, from what we saw on the bench, it didn’t look that bad,” said Dan Boyle, one of the players I talked with that night. “We felt he embellished. . . .  The fact that he’s missed a couple of games certainly makes it a more legit injury. But it didn’t look right from the bench and then he came back right away.”

Both Boyle and Dany Heatley noted that it was unfortunate that Perron has missed a couple of games and “nobody wants that at all.”

But Heatley stuck to his original statement as far as Perron “did stay on the ice to get that five-minute call.”

read on

Filed in: NHL Teams, San Jose Sharks, St. Louis Blues, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: david+perron, joe+thornton

Comments

Avatar

San Jose is and always will be a joke in this league.  Their announcers whine and their players dive worse than that crybaby Crosby.  I was at the Wings/Sharks game when Samuelsson was called for “interferance” -he wasn’t within 5 feet of the guy.  And no, I’m NOT a wings fan, I just think the favorable home ice calls the guppies get are an embarassment to the game.  There was nothing better than seeing them get smoked in the playoffs by the Hawks last year after all of the annual hype about how “the sharks finaly got it”.  Yep, “they got it” all right, their butts kicked once the real season started and they had to play a hungry team.

Posted by sean_o_sean on 11/08/10 at 10:25 PM ET

Nathan's avatar

I gotta say, I just saw the video for this hit for the first time… totally not a blind-side hit at all. Thornton was facing the front of Perron, and Perron had his head down looking at the puck.

An argument could be made that Perron put his head down like that because he didn’t expect Thornton to be coming out of the penalty box. But to me, that’s another issue. If there’s concern about vulnerabilities with guys coming out of the box, the GMs should discuss it separately.

Now I actually see why the Sharks were/are livid about this suspension. Even if you watch the Blues’ broadcast, Darren Pang’s first instinct is he says the hit was “nasty,” but then he clarifies that he means it was just a hard hit, not one with any malicious intent.

I know the new rule isn’t just about intent, but again, how can this be considered blind side when the Shark on Thornton’s sweater was facing the Note on Perron’s?

Posted by Nathan from the scoresheet! on 11/09/10 at 09:52 AM ET

CaliforniaPuck31's avatar

Nathan +1

I think people are still trying to figure out what a blindside hit really is.  The easy thing to say is if it is to the head, it’s illegal, but obviously this isn’t true (and in my opinion, never should be)

Posted by CaliforniaPuck31 from San Luis Obispo, CA on 11/09/10 at 06:15 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com