Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

SuperSkills 2009

NEW YORK (Jan. 6, 2009)—The game’s most dazzling shootout artists will attempt to wow the voting public in the Scotiabank NHL Fan Fav Breakaway Challenge and the classes of 2007-08 and 2008-09 will battle for youthful supremacy when NHL All-Star Weekend gets underway with the 2009 Honda/NHL All-Star SuperSkills Competition Saturday night, Jan. 24, at Montreal’s Bell Centre.

    The realigned NHL YoungStars Game presented by Upper Deck and the fan-judged Scotiabank NHL Fan Fav Breakaway Challenge will join SuperSkills mainstays such as the Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater,  McDonald’s NHL Accuracy Shooting and Cisco NHL Hardest Shot competitions to determine the League’s best in various disciplines. The evening will culminate with the best hockey players in the world doing what they’ve done to end practices ever since shortly after their parents first tied their skates: engage in an elimination shootout contest that won’t end until there’s only one man left unstopped.

Note: Competition results for 1990-2008 noted below.

To open the evening, four of the League’s speedsters will take the Bell Centre ice in an attempt to beat Mike Gartner’s 13-year-old record for the fastest (13.386 seconds) circuit of an NHL rink in the Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater.

    The stopwatches then get pocketed and the imaginations get set free when six of the NHL’s most creative players try to win the votes of fans by performing feats of puck-handling and goal-scoring wizardry in the Scotiabank NHL Fan Fav Breakaway Challenge. With full access to the entire offensive zone, each shooter gets one minute to complete as many attempts as possible at a routine that ends with a shot on goal. Once all six skaters have performed, fans will vote by mobile text message to determine the winner.

    Next up, the top young players in the game will take center stage in the sixth NHL YoungStars Game presented by Upper Deck. This year, for the first time, the non-stop, wide-open game of three-on-three will pit NHL sophomores against rookies.

    After the League’s sharpshooters pick corners in the McDonald’s NHL Accuracy Shooting, the boomers will blast away in the Cisco NHL Hardest Shot in an attempt to break the record set by Al Iafrate with a 105.2-mph slap shot at the 1993 NHL All-Star Weekend in Montreal.

    Finally, all 36 skaters and six goalies will play the time-honored game of hockey survivor—the Gatorade NHL Elimination Shootout. The six All-Star goalies will conduct a random draw to select the six shooters each will face in the first round. Only the shooters who score will advance. The competition will continue until a round is completed in which only one shooter scores.


Fastest Skater

2008 Shawn Horcoff   4.395 secs.*
2007 Andy McDonald   14.030 secs.
2004 Scott Niedermayer 13.783 secs.
2003 Marian Gaborik   13.713 secs.
2002 Sami Kapanen     14.039 secs.
2001 Bill Guerin     13.690 secs.
2000 Sami Kapanen     13.649 secs.
1999 Peter Bondra     14.640 secs.
1998 Scott Niedermayer 13.560 secs.
1997 Peter Bondra     13.610 secs.
1996 Mike Gartner     13.386 secs.
1994 Sergei Fedorov   13.525 secs.
1993 Mike Gartner     13.510 secs.
1992 Sergei Fedorov   14.363 secs.

* revised format

Hardest Shot

2008 Zdeno Chara     103.1 mph
2007 Zdeno Chara     100.4 mph
2004 Adrian Aucoin   102.2 mph
2003 Al MacInnis     98.9 mph
2002 Sergei Fedorov   101.5 mph
2001 Fredrik Modin   102.1 mph
2000 Al MacInnis     100.1 mph
1999 Al MacInnis     98.5 mph
1998 Al MacInnis     100.4 mph
1997 Al MacInnis     98.9 mph
1996 Dave Manson     98.0 mph
1994 Al Iafrate     102.7 mph
1993 Al Iafrate     105.2 mph
1992 Al MacInnis     93.0 mph
1991 Al MacInnis     94.0 mph
1990 Al Iafrate     96.0 mph

Elimination Shootout

2008 Dion Phaneuf

Shooting Accuracy

2008 Tomas Kaberle   4 hits, 5 shots
2007 Eric Staal     4 hits, 5 shots
    Marian Hossa
2004 Jeremy Roenick   4 hits, 4 shots
2003 Jeremy Roenick   4 hits, 6 shots
2002 Jarome Iginla   4 hits, 6 shots
    Markus Naslund
2001 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 6 shots
2000 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 5 shots
    Viktor Kozlov
1999 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 6 shots
    Jeremy Roenick
    Keith Tkachuk
1998 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 6 shots
    Peter Forsberg
    Brendan Shanahan
1997 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 7 shots
1996 Mark Messier   4 hits, 4 shots
1994 Brendan Shanahan 4 hits, 5 shots
1993 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 4 shots
1992 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 4 shots
1991 Mark Messier   4 hits, 6 shots
1990 Ray Bourque     4 hits, 7 shots

Breakaway Challenge

2008 Alex Ovechkin


Filed in: | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: asg


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


Recommended Sportsbook