Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Study The Rule Book

from Tarik El-Bashir of Capitals Insider,

Jose Theodore didn’t know the rule, and neither did Coach Bruce Boudreau. So here it is: No. 25.2, which states, “No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal).

So that’s why Ryan Callahan’s decisive in penalty shots on Wednesday was allowed to stand after it hit the crossbar, bounced off an unsuspecting Jose Theodore and back into the net.

Theodore said it’s a lesson learned.

“To be honest, I thought when it hit the crossbar, when it comes back out that it was a no play,” he said. “So I didn’t really ... I didn’t know where the puck was, but I knew it wasn’t going in. I didn’t really try to get out of the way because to me it was a no goal. Obviously, I was wrong. It’s a lesson I learned.”

continued and watch the SO goal below…

Filed in: NHL Teams, New York Rangers, Washington Capitals, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: jose+theodore

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com