Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Sharks’ OT win avoids 3-0 deficit, aggravates Kings, Jonathan Quick

The San Jose Sharks climbed back into their second round series via a 2-1 OT win over the Los Angeles Kings on Saturday night...

But the Associated Press's recap reports that the Kings were particularly upset with the ways in which the San Jose Sharks were awarded a 5-on-3 in overtime...

Tommy Wingels drew a hooking penalty on Robyn Regehr with 41.7 seconds left in regulation. But the call that really had the Kings steaming came when Trevor Lewis was called for goaltender interference when he crashed into Antti Niemi with 4.5 seconds remaining.

Los Angeles argued that Patrick Marleau pushed Lewis, and goalie Jonathan Quick got a game misconduct for arguing with the officials after the game.

"I find it very tough to believe that a player as intelligent as Trevor Lewis, that he'd run the goalie," Kings forward Dustin Penner said. "I asked him and he said he got pushed from behind. I believe him. I'm disappointed that the refs had enough confidence to make a gutsy call like that in the last 30 seconds of the period. It's pretty impressive when you have enough gall to guess because I'm going to look at the tape and I'm going to see if he got pushed because I know what it's like to drive the net."

That gave San Jose a 5-on-3 advantage for the first 1:19 of overtime. The Sharks couldn't convert with two extra men, but got the winner after Regehr came back when Marleau set up Couture in front, who beat Quick for the game-winner.

"They said we got a break last game, so now they got a break," Kings coach Darryl Sutter said.

And TSN reports that Jonathan Quick lost his cool after Couture scored the game-winner:

Jonathan Quick could be subject to supplemental discipline for his actions following the Los Angeles Kings 2-1 overtime loss to the San Jose Sharks on Saturday.

The Kings were beaten on a goal by Logan Couture after the Sharks played the entire 89 seconds of overtime on the power play. The Kings were received penalties for both hooking and goaltender interference in the final minute of regulation play.

After conceding the game winner, Quick immediately skated out of his crease and was visibly upset.

Quick was assessed a 10-minute and game misconduct after the whistle. According to Los Angeles Times hockey columnist Helene Elliott, the penalties were for abuse of an official.

According to Rule 39.5 of the NHL Rule Book a game misconduct for abuse of an official may be subject to supplemental discipline.

Game 4 between the Kings and Sharks is scheduled for Tuesday in San Jose.

Filed in: | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image