Kukla's Korner Hockey
by Paul on 11/08/11 at 03:50 PM ET
You may want to put this in your hockey memory bank for future use…
Kerry Fraser of TSN answered a question that stumped a few readers…
In Calgary vs. Colorado on November 6, 2011, a penalty was to be called against Calgary with about 15 seconds on the clock but Calgary never touched the puck and the whistle was blown. Even the commetator stated that the rule states Calgary had to touch the puck but they didn’t how could that be a stoppage of play. The penalty was fair to call but without touching the puck how could the stoppage in play happen?
While the commentator would be correct to state play is normally stopped when the offending team touches the puck during a delayed penalty, Rule 72 - Refusing to Play the Puck - takes precedent in all cases.
(72.5 Penalty - When the Referee signals the delayed calling of a penalty to one team and a player of that team intentionally abstains from playing the puck in order to allow additional time to expire on the game or penalty time clocks, the Referee shall stop the play and order the resulting face-off at one of the face-off spots in the offending team’s defending zone.)
Add a Comment
Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.
Most Recent Blog Posts
About Kukla's Korner Hockey
Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.
From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.
Email Paul anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org