Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Official Error

from the Columbus Dispatch,

When San Jose scored at the 4:22 mark with Joe Pavelski redirecting a shot from Marleau at close range, play should have returned to 4-on-4, with Malhotra and Clowe remaining the box for another 17 seconds.
Instead, officials pulled Malhotra out of the box, keeping Clowe in the box for 17 seconds and Klesla for 43 seconds.
Twenty-one seconds after Clowe came out of the box, giving the Sharks a 5-on-4 advantage, San Jose scored to take a 2-0 lead….
t took most of the second period for officials to figure out an explanation.
“It’s a joke. That’s what it is, a joke,” Blue Jackets president and general manager Doug MacLean said. “You can’t score two power-play goals on the same power play.”
NHL director of officiating Stephen Walkom later released a statement: “The officials erred in the application of the rule following San Jose’s first power-play goal. The officials admitted the error to the Columbus club prior to the start of the second period.”

more

Filed in: | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image