Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

NHL Short Notes

The 2014 NHL Awards take place tonight live from Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas (4:00 p.m. PT / 7:00 p.m. ET). The show will be broadcast on NBCSN in the U.S. and CBC in Canada.
Red carpet arrivals for the 2014 NHL Awards will begin at 2:00 p.m. PT / 5:00 p.m. ET. NHL Network will provide extensive live coverage from the red carpet, including interviews with finalists, presenters and performers.

A full list of finalists for the 2014 NHL Awards:
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Jaromir Jagr (NJ), Manny Malhotra (CAR), Dominic Moore (NYR)
Calder Memorial Trophy: Tyler Johnson (TB), Nathan MacKinnon (COL), Ondrej Palat (TB)
Frank J. Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron (BOS), Anze Kopitar (LA), Jonathan Toews (CHI)
Hart Memorial Trophy: Sidney Crosby (PIT), Ryan Getzlaf (ANA), Claude Giroux (PHI)
Jack Adams Award: Mike Babcock (DET), Jon Cooper (TB), Patrick Roy (COL)
James Norris Memorial Trophy: Zdeno Chara (BOS), Duncan Keith (CHI), Shea Weber (NSH)
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Patrick Marleau (SJ), Ryan O’Reilly (COL), Martin St. Louis (NYR)
Ted Lindsay Award: Sidney Crosby (PIT), Ryan Getzlaf (ANA), Claude Giroux (PHI)
Vezina Trophy: Ben Bishop (TB), Tuukka Rask (BOS), Semyon Varlamov (COL)
NHL General Manager of the Year Award: Marc Bergevin (MTL), Dean Lombardi (LA), Bob Murray (ANA)
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone: Dustin Brown (LA), Ryan Getzlaf (ANA), Jonathan Toews (CHI)
NHL Foundation Player Award: Patrice Bergeron (BOS), Brent Burns (SJ), Duncan Keith (CHI)
Already announced winners of 2014 NHL Awards:
Art Ross Trophy: Sidney Crosby (PIT)
King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Andrew Ference (EDM)
Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy: Alex Ovechkin (WSH)
William M. Jennings Trophy: Jonathan Quick (LA)
Conn Smythe Trophy: Justin Williams (LA)
Presidents’ Trophy: Boston Bruins
Prince of Wales Trophy: New York Rangers
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Los Angeles Kings
Stanley Cup: Los Angeles Kings
The Hockey Hall of Fame announced its 2014 inductees, including four individuals in the Player Category, one in the Builder Category and one in the Referee/Linesman Category:
Player Category: Rob Blake, Peter Forsberg, Dominik Hasek, Mike Modano
Builder Category: Pat Burns
Referee/Linesman Category: Bill McCreary
The Blue Jackets acquired forward Scott Hartnell from the Flyers in exchange for forward R.J. Umberger and a fourth-round pick in the 2015 NHL Draft . . . The Canadiens signed defenseman Andrei Markov to a three-year contract extension . . . The Flyers signed forward Brayden Schenn to a multi-year contract extension . . . The Blue Jackets signed goaltender Curtis McElhinney to a one-year contract extension . . . The Canucks hired Willie Desjardins as their 18th head coach in franchise history . . . The Hurricanes hired Steve Smith as an assistant coach . . . The Ducks hired Trent Yawney as an assistant coach. They also promoted Dave Baseggio to assistant to the general manager and extended the contracts of senior vice president of hockey operations David McNab and director of player personnel Rick Paterson . . . Capitals assistant coach Calle Johansson announced he is leaving the team to return to his native Sweden.

The above information was provided by the NHL PR department.

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, | KK Hockey | Permalink


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


Recommended Sportsbook