Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Marc Crawford Under Review By The Chicago Blackhawks

Filed in: NHL Teams, Chicago Blackhawks, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: marc+crawford

Comments

Paul's avatar

If you missed it…

Kevin Allen of USA TODAY,

Former NHL player Sean Avery told the New York Post that Marc Crawford, currently a Chicago Blackhawks assistant coach, kicked him during an NHL game in the 2006-07 season.

At the time, Crawford was the head coach of the Los Angeles Kings and Avery was his player.

“He kicked me after a too-many-men-on-the-ice call I took,” Avery said. “He didn’t have me serve it, we got scored on, and he let me have it.

“You know how I stand at the end of the bench? He came down and gave me a kick (in the behind) that left a mark.”

continued

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 12/02/19 at 08:00 PM ET

Avatar

Hey Marc- Steve Moore says hello.

Posted by pnwwing on 12/02/19 at 11:42 PM ET

Avatar

Who cares! Seriously- this is hockey- I’m sure you needed tears of therapy from a kick in the ass after years of fighting lol.  This sh!t has to stop… maybe everyone will get a Stanley cup in 2021 so nobody feels left out too…

Posted by SevensForTed on 12/02/19 at 11:48 PM ET

Avatar

Can you imagine if Jack Adams was alive…

Posted by SevensForTed on 12/02/19 at 11:49 PM ET

Paul's avatar

Can you imagine if Jack Adams was alive…

Posted by SevensForTed

Heck, don’t gibe them any ideas.  They could do it now, rename the trophy to the ‘Cleanest GM’ Trophy.

May as well go into the background of Lord Stanley too

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 12/02/19 at 11:57 PM ET

Avatar

How many more Cups would we have if Babdick was never a Wing? His reputation is a myth in hindsight.

Posted by pnwwing on 12/02/19 at 11:57 PM ET

d ca's avatar

Who cares! Seriously- this is hockey- I’m sure you needed tears of therapy from a kick in the ass after years of fighting lol.  This sh!t has to stop… maybe everyone will get a Stanley cup in 2021 so nobody feels left out too…

Posted by SevensForTed on 12/02/19 at 11:48 PM ET

Hockey can’t survive as a multi-billion dollar sport on die-hards and purists.  The game the way Don Cherry wanted it died a long time ago. That is why people care.  Beyond that as team ownership shifts from individuals to corporations so does the accountability of its management.

What has accelerated the accountability: public scrutiny and social networking. Player A doesn’t have to stand in front of team PR rep B which will cut off the interview with the print journalist and threaten their access if Player A tells the truth and it is printed: Player A can simply type it out or give a podcast accounting of management behavior right to the public.

While denouncing change as sacrilege to those that see traditions as the most sacred aspect of the sport: industries/companies go through this all the time. The cigarette companies did resulting in new required warning labels after public outcry, Exxon and other oil companies resulting in new regulations after spills, Arthur Andersen with Enron and Waste Management that lead to Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

When you add the increased medical knowledge regarding brain damage and concussions with regards to liability of these corporations you can see a 2nd wave action right behind this one.

How many more Cups would we have if Babdick was never a Wing? His reputation is a myth in hindsight.

Posted by pnwwing on 12/02/19 at 11:57 PM ET

My personal belief was one more with a decent coach and 2 more with a Scotty Bowman type during Babcock’s time.

Posted by d ca on 12/03/19 at 12:33 AM ET

Avatar

O’Sullivan calls him out in his book—- silence.
A dbag like Avery says something—- suddenly it’s “under review”.

What am I missing here?

Posted by xcheck28 on 12/03/19 at 06:11 AM ET

shazam88's avatar

O’Sullivan calls him out in his book—- silence.
A dbag like Avery says something—- suddenly it’s “under review”.

What am I missing here?

Posted by xcheck28 on 12/03/19 at 06:11 AM ET

4 years

Posted by shazam88 from SoCal on 12/03/19 at 09:57 AM ET

Avatar

More people should kick Sean Avery.

Posted by CharDeeMacDennis on 12/03/19 at 10:14 AM ET

Avatar

Where was the NHLPA in all of this?  Shouldn’t the aggrieved players have reported their issues to them first?  I don’t understand how it was so pervasive and yet no one asked to be traded or complained to the NHLPA.

Posted by bababooey on 12/03/19 at 11:14 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com