Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy Finalists

NEW YORK (May 16, 2013) – Right wing Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks, left wing Matt Moulson of the New York Islanders and right wing Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the three finalists for the 2012-13 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,” the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association submitted ballots for the Lady Byng Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final, with more detail on format to be released at a later date.

Following are the finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy, in alphabetical order:

Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Kane ranked fifth in the NHL in both goals (23) and points (55), leading Chicago to its second Presidents’ Trophy in franchise history. He played in 47 games, averaging 20:03 of playing time, but was whistled for just eight penalty minutes – the fewest among the top 20 point-producers in the League. Kane also recorded a +11 rating, his second-best plus/minus in his six-year NHL career, and tied for seventh in the League with eight power-play goals. The 24-year-old Buffalo, N.Y., native is a Lady Byng finalist for the first time.

Matt Moulson, New York Islanders

Moulson placed in the top three on the Islanders in goals (15), assists (29) and points (44), helping the team to its first playoff berth in six years. He totaled four penalty minutes in 47 games, tied with San Jose forward Logan Couture for the fewest among the top 50 scorers in the League. Moulson also posted his fourth consecutive 15-goal season, tied for seventh in the NHL with eight power-play goals and logged an average of 19:09 per game. The 29-year-old North York, Ont., native is a Lady Byng finalist for the second straight year, having finished third in voting in 2011-12.

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

St. Louis led the NHL with 43 assists and 60 points in 48 games to capture his second career Art Ross Trophy (2003-04). He averaged 1.25 points per game, becoming one of only three players in League history to achieve that mark at age 37 or older (Mario Lemieux, 2002-03; Gordie Howe, 1968-69). St. Louis also ranked second among NHL forwards in total time on ice (1,055:12), but was assessed just 14 penalty minutes. The Laval, Que., native is a two-time Lady Byng winner (2009-10, 2010-11) and has been voted a finalist for the award on four other occasions.


Lady Byng, wife of Canada’s Governor-General at the time, presented the Lady Byng Trophy during the 1924-25 season. After Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers won the award seven times in eight seasons, he was given the trophy to keep and Lady Byng donated another trophy in 1936. After Lady Byng’s death in 1949, the National Hockey League presented a new trophy, changing the name to the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

Filed in: NHL Teams, | KK Hockey | Permalink


redxblack's avatar

It has to be a joke that the kid who pummeled an old man over twenty cents is a Lady Byng finalist. That little turd’s on ice celebrations do not exude sportsmanship. Stats do not determine sportsmanship.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 05/16/13 at 10:29 AM ET

OlderThanChelios's avatar

Stats do not determine sportsmanship.

Amen, brother. Using the words “Kane” and “sportsmanship” in the same paragraph (let alone the same sentence) is an abomination. Shame on the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 05/16/13 at 10:50 AM ET

MOWingsfan19's avatar

The petulant little d*ckhead needs a participation trophy since he’s not on the list for any of the other awards.

Posted by MOWingsfan19 from I really like our team on 05/16/13 at 12:26 PM ET

SYF's avatar

$0.20 is on this list???

This college coed-choking, drunken idiot is a nominee for this award?  For shame, PHWA.  For shame.

Posted by SYF from Twerkin' with Anastasia Ashley on 05/16/13 at 12:31 PM ET


a participation trophy since he’s not on the list for any of the other awards.

I agree, he should have been nominated for the Hart.

Posted by timbits on 05/16/13 at 09:41 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com