Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Kronwall Hit On Havlat

Niklas Kronwall of the Detroit Red Wings delivers a hit to Martin Havlat that resulted in a five minute interference call and a game misconduct to Kronwall.

HNIC video…

added 10:02pm, Empty Netters chimes in…

That said, Kronwall’s a head hunter who has a history of leaving his feet to deliver hits. And he charged Havlat. Versus commentators Ed Olczyk, Brian Engblom and Keith Jones kept saying Kronwall didn’t leave his feet to deliver the hit. They must have depth perception issues because this is what we saw:

Kronwall was up in the air for maybe a split second, but that doesn’t matter. According to Rule 43 of the NHL’s rulebook:

“43.1 Charging - A minor or major penalty shall be imposed on a player or goalkeeper who skates or jumps into, or charges an opponent in any manner.”

more

Filed in: NHL Teams, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: martin+havlat, niklas+kronwall

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com