Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Devils denied game-tying goal due to Toronto review

The New Jersey Devils lost 3-2 to the New York Islanders today because Devils captain Zach Parise’s last-second, game-tying goal was waved off by the NHL’s “situation room” in Toronto, overruling the on-the-ice awarding of the goal:

From the NHL’s “situation room” blog:

At 19:59 of the third period in the Devils/Islanders game, video review used the overhead angle and the side camera to determine that Devils forward Zach Parise used his right skate to propel the puck into the net.  According to rule 49.2 “A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net”. No Goal New Jersey.

Parise had this to say to the Bergen Record’s Tom Gulitti...

Parise on ruling: “I just watched it, but I’m sorry because I can’t agree with it.”
...
Parise: “I knew it hit off my skate. I knew it hit off my stick too, but if that’s a kicking motion, then I don’t know.”

And his coach backed the captain up:

DeBoer: “I wouldn’t consider what I saw a distinct kicking motion, but I don’t get to make those decisions.”
...
DeBoer on Parise: ““He deserves one and sure it would have been a big boost, but this league doesn’t afford you the time to feel sorry for yourself.”

Filed in: | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

LiteWork's avatar

If that was Crosby it would have been called a goal.

Posted by LiteWork on 11/26/11 at 07:44 PM ET

Crow's avatar

No distinct kicking motion.  Parise was robbed a goal by the NHL.

Posted by Crow on 11/26/11 at 07:50 PM ET

George Malik's avatar

I thought it was a goal, too.

Posted by George Malik from South Lyon, MI on 11/26/11 at 08:14 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

Oh damn, what a tough call.  This should have counted.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 11/26/11 at 08:28 PM ET

SYF's avatar

Robbery.  Broad daylight Wells Fargo wagon robbery.

Posted by SYF from The Revenge of Johnny E on 11/26/11 at 08:30 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

Parise should go to Toronto and deliver a clear kicking motion to the junk of all the video monkeys that made the call. This is bad for the league (one more inconsistency) and bad for the teams involved. It’s a soft win and denied both teams the opportunity to win it for real in OT.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 11/26/11 at 08:36 PM ET

bezukov's avatar

The NHL would do itself a favor if they had a review booth for the referees to review plays themselves, like they do in the NFL.  I’d like see a review box or something akin to that, where the refs who actually saw the play in person could make the review.  It would do a lot to stop many of the “black helicopter types” around the NHL from claiming conspiracy.  I think the calls would be more accurate as wel.

Posted by bezukov from the kids are alright. on 11/26/11 at 08:55 PM ET

Avatar

Does anyone think it might have been goalie interference?  Parise was in the goal crease well before the puck got there.

Posted by RogerNYLA on 11/26/11 at 09:01 PM ET

Avatar

Parise was in the goal crease well before the puck got there.

Sure, but being in the crease isn’t goalie interference.  And if it were goalie interference it would’ve been a straight-up no goal call, not a review.

Posted by Garth on 11/26/11 at 10:30 PM ET

Nate A's avatar

I’m not sure it was a “distinct kick.” but it looked pretty clearly like a skate push to me. Were it not for that push the puck was not going in.  If skate goals beyond a pure deflection are bad, I’m OK with it being a no-goal.

Posted by Nate A from Detroit-ish on 11/27/11 at 05:40 AM ET

Hootinani's avatar

Sure, but being in the crease isn’t goalie interference.  And if it were goalie interference it would’ve been a straight-up no goal call, not a review.

Apparently you’ve never watched a Wings game.  Homer gets called for interference for having his heels in the crease all the time.  Goalie interference is as ambiguous and arbitrary as every other rule in the NHL.

As for a the goal, man that is a close call, but with the ruling on the ice being a goal, I don’t know how you call that back.

Posted by Hootinani on 11/27/11 at 02:01 PM ET

Avatar

Apparently you’ve never watched a Wings game.

No, I’ve watched many, but this wasn’t a Wings game, so I don’t expect a BS call like this.

And if it were Holmstrom, the call on the ice would’ve been no goal in the first place.

Posted by Garth on 11/27/11 at 04:36 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com