Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Controversial Call

Preds/Kings game goes to shootout today. Roenick is stopped by Vokoun with a left leg save as Vokoun is going back into the goal. Puck comes off his pad, J.R. gives it a little push and puck goes into the net. Refs review and award a goal, Kings win. My understanding is you can't score on a rebound n a shootout/penalty shot. Strange ruling to say the least. update 9:11pm, via the AP,
"I came down and went to my backhand, and then when I tried to bring it back to my forehand, I kind of lost an edge and tried to stuff it in," Roenick said. "As I did, his pad and the puck went in at the same time. I knew I was going down, but I still had enough to push it by him." A video review helped referees decide that Roenick hadn't put in his own rebound. "The question was whether Jeremy had played it a second time, a rebound," referee Dennis LaRue said. "I didn't see that on the ice, and it was apparently confirmed on the replay upstairs."

Filed in: | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image