Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Canucks With A New Complaint

via Jason Botchford of the Vancouver Province,

When the game was over, several Canucks said: “Are you going to write about that penalty shot?”

Of course we are because it’s not often we see one called when a forward is trying to score by going around the dot. That’s what happened Sunday when Magnus Paajarvi got by Andrew Alberts, around the faceoff circle.

The Canucks defenceman lunged backward in an attempt to swat the puck away or knock Paajarvi’s stick, as the Oiler forward took a sharp angle toward the net. Alberts’ stick tripped Paajarvi, who still got both a shot on net and a penalty shot, thanks to referee Brad Meier. He’s the same ref who just happened to let a similar play go Saturday night when it was Ryan Kesler in the Paajarvi role.

“I asked Brad what was the difference between (Paajarvi) and Kes on Saturday and he said ‘it’s way different,’” Vigneault said. “I’ll have to look at it again.”

You can play ref and make the call by watching the video below…

Filed in: NHL Teams, Edmonton Oilers, Vancouver Canucks, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: magnus+paajarvi

Comments

SK77's avatar

Paajarvi forgot to start off with a spin ...

Why would this not be a penalty shot? He had a straight in chance at the goalie and was tripped from behind.

Another thing, you don’t see Alberts argue or even say a single thing to the ref that called the penalty shot. He doesn’t looked shocked, or act like he doesn’t understand the call.

Posted by SK77 on 12/13/10 at 02:34 PM ET

mmuskrat's avatar

Why bitch about it?  He didn’t score, nothing lost, nothing gained.  Seriously, the ‘Nucks must think that whining is free - it’s a bad image, and when nothing can be done after the fact, and when the result was the best possible in your favour, it’s not worth your time in the press box.  Give the ref an earful on the ice, and leave it at that, Alan.

Posted by mmuskrat on 12/13/10 at 06:19 PM ET

Avatar

What’s wrong with this sentence?

Alberts’ stick tripped Paajarvi, who still got both a shot on net and a penalty shot, thanks to referee Brad Meier.

Shall we dissect?

1) It wasn’t Alberts’ stick, it was ALBERTS that tripped Paajarvi.
2) He still got a shot off?  Are we joking here?  Paul, are you sure this is from the Vancouver Province?  Maybe you misspelled “The Onion”.  Seriously, he still got a shot off?  Is this ass out of his friggin mind?
3) It wasn’t “thanks to” Brad Meier, it was “thanks to” Alberts not being able to defend Paajarvi and having to resort to tripping him.

Honestly, how could this NOT be a penalty shot??

Posted by Garth on 12/13/10 at 08:11 PM ET

Avatar

People here are missing the point.  The complaint is about the inconsistency.  Unfortunately no video about the Kesler trip is available online, so we can’t really tell whether it was really “way different” or whether the same referee should have given one to Kesler too.

Posted by Kel on 12/13/10 at 08:30 PM ET

Avatar

Whether this was way different or not, how is that a penalty shot, he didn’t have a partial or full break-away, yeah he beat his guy but it’s not like he was all alone with him up there.  A penalty ok, a penalty shot?  I don’t think so.

Posted by Josey Wales on 12/13/10 at 09:07 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com