Kukla's Korner Hockey
Hockey is a fast game and things happen quickly. Fans as well as the NHL have a tendency to react solely to the outcome of the hit. I find it interesting the referees on the ice had no intention of calling a penalty on the play and didn't raise an arm until after realizing Boyle was seriously injured.
This incident was more about bad luck than a bad play.
-Andy Strickland of FoxSports Midwest on the Maxim Lapierre hit on Dan Boyle. More on the hit and other hits in the game too...
Watch the "bad luck" hit below...
from David Pollak of the Working the Corners at the Mercury News,
The post-game news on Dan Boyle was good, but not that good.
“From what I understand he’s doing OK,” Todd McLellan said of the report from Barnes-Jewish Hospital where Boyle was taken. “They’re going to keep him tonight just for some observation.”...
Logan Couture said Lapierre was actually yelling at his line as the Sharks skated by the Blues bench at the end of the first shift.
“After the first shift he’s yelling at us from their bench that he’s coming after us,” Couture said, “and then he does that. I don’t even know. It’s pretty gutless.”
Now obviously the NHL is going to weigh in on that hit and the smart money says Sheriff Shanahan doles out more than six games, maybe lots and lots more. Does Shanahan factor in Couture’s allegation to show premeditation? Does Couture get deposed? Will be interesting.
If you did not see the hit or want to review it again, watch it here...
via Kevin Kurz of CSNBayArea,
Sharks defenseman Dan Boyle left the ice on a stretcher following a hit from behind by St. Louis’ Maxim Lapierre in the first period of the Sharks-Blues game on Tuesday night.
Boyle was motionless on the ice for several minutes after the hit, which occurred in the corner behind Sharks goalie Antti Niemi, and several Sharks players quickly motioned to the benches for team trainers. Boyle, strapped onto the stretcher, managed to raise his right arm as he was being wheeled off of the ice with 14:38 to go in the period.
Lapierre received a five-minute major for checking from behind, a fighting major for dropping the gloves with Andrew Desjardins, and a game misconduct. Ryan Reaves and Matt Pelech also fought after the hit.
added 9:04pm, Below, another video of the hit.
Below, see all the penalties that resulted from the hit.
Two of the NHL's three undefeated teams face off in a nationally-televised matchup that could be an early preview of the Western Conference Final.
The San Jose Sharks (5-0-0) set a franchise record with 24 goals through five games and have at least 47 shots on goal three times (twice at least 50). They begin a stretch of seven of eight games on the road against the St. Louis Blues (4-0-0), a team that's outscored opponents 19-7.
San Jose and St. Louis are first and second in the League with 4.80 and 4.75 goals per game, respectively, and the host Blues are after their seventh win in eight games against their Western Conference rivals.
continue for a look at the 12 games tonight...
from Kevin Kurz of CSNBayArea,
Sharks forward Tomas Hertl left late in the second period of Saturday night's game against Ottawa after getting hit by the Senators’ Clarke MacArthur, and did not return.
Hertl skated immediately to the dressing room after taking what looked to be a check to the shoulder/head area with 2:14 left in the middle frame. The hit did not look particularly vicious, and Hertl was hunched over and had his head down while taking a backhand shot towards the net.
“He fell into a player,” head coach Todd McLellan said. “Basically, he was going to the net, stumbled and fell into him. He’s a little bit sore, but I think he’ll be fine tomorrow.”
Watch the play below and Hertl basically skated, head down, right into MacArthur.
Keivn Allen of USA TODAY and the president of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, along with Scott Morrison, joined Sportsnet's Hockey Central Show yesterday to discuss the reporting aspect of the 'Joe Thornton quote'.
Mark Spector of Sportsnet with his views on the same subject.
from David Pollak of the Mercury News,
An offhand and off-color remark by Sharks captain Joe Thornton has turned into an online firestorm.
Only one media outlet in the locker room actually used what Thornton had to say, but once the Vancouver Province put the full statement on its hockey blog, it was widely distributed through Twitter and appeared on other sites such as Deadspin.
The Sharks took issue with the decision to post what Thornton said.
"I don't think it would be a surprise to anyone in the industry that 'locker room talk' exists," Sharks director of communications Scott Emmert said in a prepared statement. "Professional reporters understand that concept and respect it."
If you missed what Thornton said, you can read it here and it may be offensive to some.
from Katie Carrera of Capitals Insider,
Capitals Coach Adam Oates can appreciate the cool play, but sides with those who don’t see that type of goal as appropriate.
“I’m upset. I was just talking to George [McPhee] and he said all the kids do that nowadays, which I understand. But would he have done it on his first goal?” Oates said. “He hasn’t scored yet tonight and he gets a breakaway, is he going to do that on his breakaway? We’ll see.
“I think it was a little bit of a mood thing, which I’m sure they talked about, because they didn’t play him after that,” Oates continued. “I’m glad the coach did that because this league, it will bite you if you’re not sharp. Don’t disrespect the league. I’m sure it was a rookie mistake.”
During Oates’s playing days, a goal like that would have brought at least a fight or a solid slash from a goaltender, if not more.
more and if you missed or want to see the goal again, watch it below...
added 8:42pm,Watch Brendan Shanahan with the explanation below...
San Jose Sharks defenseman Brad Stuart will have a hearing Wednesday with the NHL Department of Player Safety for an incident during a game Tuesday night against the New York Rangers at SAP Center.
At 2:32 of the first period, Stuart was assessed a minor penalty for elbowing after a hit on New York forward Rick Nash.
Nash played several more shifts in the first period, but did not return after the first intermission.
The following grounds are being considered for supplemental discipline: illegal check to the head. However, the Department of Player Safety retains the right to make adjustments to the infraction upon review.
Watch the hit here... and comments from Nash are in the comment section of that link...
About Kukla's Korner Hockey
Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.
From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.
Email Paul anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org