Kukla's Korner

Abel to Yzerman

Kerry Fraser On The Cam Atkinson Goal

from Kerry Fraser of TSN,

Some will say that the contact exerted by Smith was minimal and insufficient to knock the net off the moorings without some responsibility placed on Atkinson. The replay shows that Atkinson's momentum and forward progress was altered significantly and he accelerated from his initial stop inside the top of the crease after the contact by Smith was initiated and completed. It is also evident that Atkinson attempted to push back and stop following the contact by Smith with a second, separate spray of snow from his skate blade.

Referee Chris Rooney made an excellent, quick decision when he correctly applied rule 63.6 to award the goal to Atkinson following the actions of Smith that "accidentally" caused the goal post to be displaced prior to the puck crossing the goal line.

more

If you want to watch/review the goal, see below...

Filed in: | Abel to Yzerman | Permalink
 

Comments

perfection's avatar

it’s frustrating that he doesn’t address the fact that according to this rule, the player has to actually be in the process of shooting when the net comes off for it to be a good goal or in other words, the puck basically would have had to be going in anyway. not only does he actually flick the puck in long after the goal is off (well… long after in slow mo. I guess it was only an instant after in real time), but his positioning is also right where the post would have been, meaning he actually hit the puck into the net from a spot on the ice that is not even in play. I still think this a total crap call. If we’re simply focusing on whether Smith was responsible for the net coming off, of course there’s an argument. But there’s another half of the rule for it to be a good goal. that puck was just sitting there still when the net came off. Doesn’t matter who pushed it off. All that should have influenced is where the faceoff was.

Posted by perfection from LaLaLand on 03/26/14 at 01:35 PM ET

Down River Dan's avatar

Isn’t there a can of aqua net with your name on it, and a mirror you should be standing in front of right now Kerry?

Posted by Down River Dan on 03/26/14 at 01:53 PM ET

Rumbear's avatar

I call shenanigans! Although, to be fair some of his hair care opinions are quite good.

Posted by Rumbear from Top O the Hasek, with 3 fingers of rum & a cigar.. on 03/26/14 at 02:29 PM ET

Avatar

he was in the act of shooting. any logical person can see that. good goal. stop whining

Posted by jkm2011 on 03/26/14 at 04:42 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

Logic does not play into this, unless you meant to post a syllogism and just forgot.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 03/26/14 at 10:23 PM ET

Avatar

The shot was taken AFTER the net was dislodged from its moorings. The play should have been blown dead immediately but, because it was in real time, the official did not have the time to react. H

However, the net was off WHEN the shot was taken. It does not matter how or who, in terms of the play itself, as an immediate stoppage should ensue once the net is fully dislodged from its moorings.

How is this any different than a goal being called back WHEN THE REFEREE INTENDED TO BLOW THE WHISTLE? How many times over the past several years have we seen the Wings get screwed by those kinds of calls? Way more often than they ever get a break on one…that’s for certain.

Fraser’s smug and definite response to the decision is just him protecting the officiating fraternity. I can see the rule being interpreted that way to the casual eye, with no benefit of replay, but the replay clearly shows the puck was shot AFTER the net came off. That it is not reviewable is another reason why NHL officiating is so awful.

Posted by NewfieWing on 03/27/14 at 07:24 AM ET

Primis's avatar

Fraser is wrong on every single piece he writes.  He always supports the on-ice decision.  Always.  He never analyzes or questions the call on-ice, or suggests that the call on-ice may have been wrong.  He tows the Ref Line 100%.

So his support of the call on-ice should be read and seen as condemnation that the call was indeed wrong.  Because if it’s controversial enough that Fraser is writing about it in support of the refs, it means everyone knows it was wrong including him.

Posted by Primis on 03/27/14 at 08:40 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Abel to Yzerman

Welcome to Abel to Yzerman, a Red Wing blog since 1977.  No other site on the internet has better-researched, fact-laden and better prepared discussions than A2Y.  Re-phrase: we do little research, find facts and stats highly overrated and claim little to no preparation.  There are 19 readers of A2Y. No more, no less. All of them, except maybe one, are juvenile in nature.  Reminding them of that in the comment section will only encourage them to prove that. Your suggestions and critiques are welcome: wphoulihan@gmail.com